Reviews

The Sun is also a Star – Nicola Yoon

a“I don’t believe in love.”
“It’s not a religion,” he says. “It exists whether you believe in it or not.”

The Sun is also a Star is about love, fate, responsibility, family, fear and happiness. I haven’t read a more beautifully written contemporary book. The whole story takes places in ONE day so it’s very detailed and descriptive. It is about not just a story of Natasha and Daniel but includes certain PoVs of people around them. This book dealt with really strong issues of immigration, race, loneliness and mental health.

DSC04767i.JPG

The story is fast paced and beautifully written. I was totally involved in the book right from the start and I was pretty sure to give it 4.5 Stars. That being said, I’m not okay with the ending. *Mild Spoilers Ahead* This book made me believe in destiny, for things which are meant meant to be, and then break all of my belief and leave me with my heart broken. Yes, I think I’m more heartbroken than Natasha. I probably started to fall for Daniel too. *End of Mild Spoilers* I liked the narrator of the epilogue, but it still could not compensate for how I wanted this book to end. I did like that it dealt with different point of views, to know everyone’s story made me get involved more.

“Stars are important,” I say, laughing.
“Sure, but why not more poems about the sun? The sun is also a star, and it’s our most important one. That alone should be worth a poem or two.”

I did enjoy reading this book, a little more than I usually enjoy contemporaries and I’m definitely a fan of Yoon’s writing style. The story build up was good and the character development was steady which is very important for me in a book. I would recommend reading this one!

P.S. I hate Jeremy Fitzgerald!

RATING: 3.5 STARS 🙂

Leave a Reply

