Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”

69794669-306a-4c2b-81a9-47b01ab6c72ai

This is a story about a boy, Jacob, who is very influenced by his grandfathers’ unusual tales but as he grows up, he starts to understand how impossible the stories sound. Although his grandfather has proof to his stories in the form of pictures, Jacob believes the stories to be a creation of his grandfather’s imagination. After his grandfather dies under mysterious circumstances, Jacob seeks therapy as everyone around him thinks that he is unable to cope up with his grandfather’s death; however he is not sure!

I was genuinely excited to read this book. I picked it up with really high expectations and I can’t say that it lived up to that! The story was very gripping at a lot of places and the pictures were damn hell intriguing. However, I felt that the author was trying to hard to include the pictures in the story. The description of each and every photo seemed forced and unnatural. I also fail to understand the story to be a horror one. I would not call it horror at all, or even creepy for that matter.

I liked the plot of the story. It was something new and adventurous. Every time that I thought that the story was getting boring, a new revelation was made which made me get back in to the book. I liked reading Miss Peregrine the most. You don’t get to read about a woman who can turn into a bird and control time in every book, do you? I liked Jacob too, besides his horrifying taste in women, of course!

20454173

 

I’ve heard the other two books to be better than the first one so I hope to pick them up real soon! I definitely recommend this book for its plot and the unique format.

RATING: 4/5 STARS 🙂

Leave a Reply

