Liam is a sixteen year boy who is the only child of his parents’ until his sister shows up in school. He didn’t have a sister,  yet he seemed to know her and so did the people around him, including his mother.

images-3

This book gave me Percy Jackson vibes right at the beginning. With all the quests, monsters and unicorns, I found the book very interesting and engaging. I liked the whole concept and the backdrop of the story as well as the story line which made me want to keep reading the whole time. The relationship between Liam and Kari seemed very natural and relatable. It is an easy read and can definitely help you if you are in a reading slump.

However, I felt a major flaw in the writing where I did not feel the intensity of the situation which was the mere essence of the quest the characters were a part of. The need to understand the gravity of the situation and the danger the characters were in seemed missing. I also felt that the time with the basilisk could’ve developed into an interesting part of the quest which was barely included in the story.

I would’ve loved to read Kari’s PoV to understand what was going on in her head and what she thought of Liam’s world. Liam’s view of Elsewhere was very natural and easy to understand; however Kari’s feelings towards the ‘normal’ world would’ve been interesting to read.

Middlegraders would enjoy reading this book. And honestly, so did I!

RATING: 3.5/5 STARS 🙂

*Thank you eSpec Books for sending me an ARC for an honest review.*

 

